Running an external monitor

timaldiss

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. Newbie here. I want to relay a live feed from the dashcam to an external monitor. Is this possible? Which models allow this? What terminology am I looking for? Ta

Welcome to the forum Tim.
Many dashcams have a AV out option ( this is only low resolution not 720 or 1080p ) some even have a mini or micro HDMI out, and these can be HD / FHD but i am not quite sure they allow for video to a screen while recording.
Having a screen with video going, even if it is video from the road in front of you, well it might be illegal if the driver can see the screen.

I personally see dashcams as a stealth technology so the less other people see of them the better, i can easy imagine in a situation the other part can go crazy if he know you have it all on video.
This could easy become violent if the other part are that kind of low life scum,,,,, and sadly there seem to be more and more of those, almost to a degree you could claim it is trending.

Thank you. Sorry state of affairs isn't it.

The requirement is for seats in the rear of a camper van to be able to see the road/view ahead. Hence HD being a nice to have here. Maybe I'll take a look at the action camera market...

Yes.
I know there was some guy here a while back that was a tourist bus driver in the US, he hooked up a camera so he could display the video out on the bus monitors, and it was quite popular.
One thing to keep a eye on with HDMI is if the video signal thru that can be live when the camera are recording ( as i understand it not always the case )
This are not the problem with the cameras using good old AV out, those can always be live when recording.
Of course if you go for a HDMI camera your system in the camper better support HDMI inputs too, but i think about now HDMI in mobile entertainment systems are sort of a norm