Screen goes blank after a few seconds.

Pete4658

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Help, I'm new to this game. Bought a car with 312gw fitted. Gone through settings best I can but when I start my journey the screen goes blank after a few seconds. Is this normal or should the screen remain active whilst the ignition is on. If this query has been asked in the past then I must have missed it and I apologise.

Is it recording ?

If so then it will be a screensaver.

Help, I'm new to this game. Bought a car with 312gw fitted. Gone through settings best I can but when I start my journey the screen goes blank after a few seconds. Is this normal or should the screen remain active whilst the ignition is on. If this query has been asked in the past then I must have missed it and I apologise.
Thanks, I'll check

Thanks, I'll check

If the camera is still recording after the screen goes dark, as @Kremmen mentioned, that's completely normal. All dash cams do that. In most jurisdictions it is illegal to have an active video screen on at all times because it would be a distraction for the driver. Additionally, if the screen was on all the time it would make the camera run hotter and you don't want that.

Most dash cams have a setting in the menu under "screen saver" where you can set how many seconds you want the screen to stay active after the camera starts, such as 15, 30, 45 or 60 seconds depending in the brand. One way or another you do want the screen to go dark after you start your car and drive off, assuming the camera is indeed recording.

Hello,

You'll be able to disable the screen saver by:
1) Turn the Dash Cam on
2) Stop it recording (by pressing the red circle)
3) Go into Settings (press the Menu Button twice)
4) Scroll down to ‘Screen Saver’
5) Disable the Screen Saver here

I'd also recommend formatting the SD card. You can re-format the card by two methods;

1) On the Dash Cam Itself
2) On a Computer

1) On the Dash Cam:
a) Turn on the Dash Cam