Set-Up Recommendation

Initial "problems" sound strange, i dont think a dashcam should behave like that, in general they work fine with the shipping firmware, at least they should cuz updating such things are something many dont do.
So if i was you i would keep a close eye on the camera for the first few months, so if there is a issue you can get a RMA going ASAP.

If the camera have a low bitrate always option, then thats what i would go for, it is regular video with sound, but at a much lower bitrrate so that put a lot less strain on the memory card.
As i myself is pretty new to using parking guard, and low bitrate always record, i feared that the low bitrate might be too low for capturing details like a plate of a car passing by, so when i got the SG9663DR camera for testing the first thing i did was test this, and i was very pleasant surprised.

I’ve been running parking mode for the last 4 years on Thinkware dash-cams. I drive very little time, as in 5 to 15 minutes daily (some weeks not even daily but maybe 3/4 days a week). I usually go out for a longer drive in the weekends (at least 30 mins).

From my point of view it’s cheaper to replace the car’s battery every 3 or 4 years (in case you keep the car longer than that) than to install a Cellink or other battery pack if you have a big car battery. My 105 Ah AGM battery was 250 euros to replace and the original battery lasted 6 years. The thing is the car’s battery can accept huge amounts of current from the alternator so it will charge much faster than those auxiliary battery packs. If you drive very little time those packs will not have enough time to fully re-charge so your dash cam might turn off earlier than expected.

My DashCam uses around 3 to 4w in parking mode => 96w in 24 hours. That is around 8 Ah so less than 8% discharge. Of course battery sulfation will occur at some point but if the battery is big enough the impact will be negligible. On smaller batteries the degradation will be bigger.