Sony Action Cam - Image Sensor?

Panzer Platform

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2024 Minimum Requirements: STARVIS 2 & HDR
As i recall it is a fairly old camera, but i quick search did not give me any sensor specifics to share.

I think 8.8 MP are just what it use of the sensor for video, in photo mode it say 21 mpix photos, and i dont think it is upscale photos ?

Thanks Brian,
I own this camera.
This is what I've been using to make all my YouTube videos for the past 4 years.
I "wear" the camera on the side of my head as a POV camera to keep both my hands free while filming.
I've been looking for an upgrade / replacement for the past year, but I cannot find anything that will work for my application.
The closest thing I've found was the Ordro EP8 ($243);
https://www.amazon.com/gp/B09V26FNX5But my research has prevented me from buying it.

I actually bought a DJI Osmo Pocket 1 ($200) 11 months ago, but the 80 degree FOV did not work for my application, (I prefer around 120 degree FOV).
Here are 3 sample clips comparing the DJI, Sony Action Cam, and my iPhone SE 2020.
DJI: 4K 60fps 100Mbps 80° FOV
Sony: 1080p 60fps 28Mbps 120° FOV
iPhone: 4K 60fps 50Mbps 80° FOV

This is what I've been using to make all my YouTube videos for the past 4 years.
I "wear" the camera on the side of my head as a POV camera to keep both my hands free while filming.
I've been looking for an upgrade / replacement for the past year, but I cannot find anything that will work for my application.

I'm not sue if I'm understanding you correctly, but are you saying that want a new camera that also works on the side of your head as well as having the AOV you require?