Stupid power cable

Antoeknee

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2017
Messages
97
Reaction score
31
Country
United Kingdom
I've never seen this before. Might have to investigate.
 

Tony lovelock

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
392
Reaction score
71
Location
Hampshire
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase 412gw/Nextbase 212G & möbius C3 wide angle lens
I haven’t seen Tiffany from nextbase or the nextbase customer support on here promote it before... shame they don’t chuck these in the box on the higher end models as optional extra, just like the lens reflector as extra on the higher end models
 
OP
G

GuyRilla

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2018
Messages
16
Reaction score
2
Country
United Kingdom
I haven’t seen Tiffany from nextbase or the nextbase customer support on here promote it before... shame they don’t chuck these in the box on the higher end models as optional extra, just like the lens reflector as extra on the higher end models
These really should come as standard with the higher priced cams.
 

Tony lovelock

Active Member
Joined
Jan 18, 2017
Messages
392
Reaction score
71
Location
Hampshire
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase 412gw/Nextbase 212G & möbius C3 wide angle lens
I couldn’t agree more (y)
 

Keg

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2018
Messages
8
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
that should come as standard and not an option methinks esp' at 25 quid the robbing....

EDIT: ah written that before reading on from said post
 

Antoeknee

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2017
Messages
97
Reaction score
31
Country
United Kingdom
Why should it come as standard? You get a charger. No other device I can think of, sat nav etc has anything other than a single USB charger. And sat nav are considerably more expensive.
 

Kremmen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
776
Reaction score
220
Location
West London
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V2 DCTeam .6Ro Firmware
My Garmin won't work off USB in the car. It thinks it's plugged into a PC and goes into transfer mode and not navigation mode.

My dashcam and SatNav were roughly the same price.
 

NextBase Support

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,114
Reaction score
340
Location
Caerphilly
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase
I haven’t seen Tiffany from nextbase or the nextbase customer support on here promote it before... shame they don’t chuck these in the box on the higher end models as optional extra, just like the lens reflector as extra on the higher end models
They've only just been released, it's an alternative to the hardwire kit if you need the ports to charge other devices.
 

Kremmen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
776
Reaction score
220
Location
West London
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V2 DCTeam .6Ro Firmware
Alternative to the hardwire kit ? That's a fusebox job.

Surely an alternative to the supplied fag lighter socket lead ?
 

NextBase Support

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Mar 22, 2017
Messages
1,114
Reaction score
340
Location
Caerphilly
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase
Depends how you look at it I suppose; the Hardwire kit frees up the cigarette socket, now there are two choices.
 

Jacko956

Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2018
Messages
113
Reaction score
18
Location
Manchester
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Nextbase 512gw, 512 rear
My Garmin won't work off USB in the car. It thinks it's plugged into a PC and goes into transfer mode and not navigation mode.

My dashcam and SatNav were roughly the same price.
It might be that the usb cable needs to be charge only.
 

Kremmen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
776
Reaction score
220
Location
West London
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V2 DCTeam .6Ro Firmware
You need a specially wired USB with a control wire to run a Garmin off USB in navigation mode apparently.
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
45,394
Reaction score
24,206
Location
Shenzhen, China - Sydney, Australia
Country
China
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
You need a specially wired USB with a control wire to run a Garmin off USB in navigation mode apparently.
they use pin 4 as well from memory, not 100% sure but there might be a resistor between pin 4 and pin 5, might be something that you could google to find out for sure
 

M8TJT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2018
Messages
889
Reaction score
396
Location
Bexhill, East Sussex
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Blackvue 550 2CH, 2x750 2CH & Nextbase 312GW
You need a specially wired USB with a control wire to run a Garmin off USB in navigation mode apparently.
Just to remain off topic a little longer, mine works OK in nav mode (no traffic) on a standard USB lead unless I plug it into my computer.
 

Kremmen

Active Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2017
Messages
776
Reaction score
220
Location
West London
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Viofo A119 V2 DCTeam .6Ro Firmware
I tried USB ages ago and it kept flicking between PC mode and navigation mode so I've always wired in a female fag socket behind the dash.
 

Similar threads


Top