Total Newbie

psychosax

Reaction score
Country
Ireland
Hi, am a total newbie to the dash cam world and went with a Nextbase 522GW and add on rear facing camera after doing some research (googling) Seems like it just does what it says on the tin and very easy to set up/use, apart from Intelligent Parking Mode? I understand the premise but with it enabled, every time I enter the car it obviously starts recording immediately, I can sometimes spend a few minutes in my car before driving off, setting up directions on Waze etc so I cancel the recording. I then need to manually start recording once I start the car to drive off? Like I said Im a total newbie so have no other reference......

The accompanying iOS app MyNextbase is pretty horrible to use? After installing the dash cam I then tried the app, it refused to connect although sometimes the process did get as far as giving me a pair code that showed up on the dash cam and the app but once I accepted the app just froze! Left it a while and after some googling again I came across a possibility of a fix, My iPhone XS Max iOS 12.4, was connected by bluetooth to my car, Audi Q2 and also by cable to Carplay. To resolve the issue it suggested
  • forgetting the bluetooth connection between car and iPhone,
  • forgetting the connection between iPhone and dash cam,
  • hard reset iPhone.
After doing these steps I then retried the setup between iPhone and dash cam, low and behold connection was made. (I can however have bluetooth connections with an Apple Watch and and AirPods) I was then able to proceed with setting up Live View, SOS etc

However over next few days Ive noticed that the SOS function drops constantly, I get a red screen on dash cam saying the function is no longer available? When I park up I can open up app, tap the SOS button and then turn slider to on position and then it reconnects.