Two cameras on one power cord

freightliner

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all,
First post. Total beginner.

I drive a commercial vehicle. I want to build a custom dash cam unit composing of a bracket that fits around the arm of the mirror holding a pvc tube with poly carbonate lens protector ends with 2 Mobius 2 cameras suspended within the tube, one pointing forward, one pointing backwards. I want to use only one power cord - two power cord ends spliced and connected to the dash cams. I realize this is probably basic electronics 101 and I understand the smirks. I'm looking for proof that by doing this the voltage or amperage will be enough to run both cameras or proof that it won't.

It all depends upon what your power source (i.e. cigarette plug adapter or dedicated 12V to 5V converter) is rated to provide. If it can handle at least 2 Amps, you should be fine. I am personally running a simlar set-up in two of my cars using a 12V to 5V converter (rated at 2A) hardwired in and have had no problems.

I've used 4 cameras from one outlet so as long as electronics 101 is followed, it should be fine, ie. Don't connect +ve with -ve.

It all depends upon what your power source (i.e. cigarette plug adapter or dedicated 12V to 5V converter) is rated to provide. If it can handle at least 2 Amps, you should be fine. I am personally running a simlar set-up in two of my cars using a 12V to 5V converter (rated at 2A) hardwired in and have had no problems.
So if I understand what your saying the voltage doesn't drop or I should say on a 12 volt to 5 volt adapter it is not the voltage I should be concerned with but the amperage rating?

I've used 4 cameras from one outlet so as long as electronics 101 is followed, it should be fine, ie. Don't connect +ve with -ve.
I guess I don't understand crypto zen.

I guess I don't understand crypto zen.