two cameras or dual cameras?

Pocatello

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello all! Great website and forum! Here is my first post!

My family just purchased a new Jeep Grand Cherokee, and my wife will be the primary driver. I like the idea of a camera in the front as well as the rear of the vehicle.

What are the pros and cons of running separate cameras in the front and rear vs. getting a DC Dual camera setup?

I like wi-fi access to the camera, and parking lot monitoring in the rear is important.

Any ideas? Thanks!

Two separate cameras would be more expensive, tricker to get power to rear, and less stealthy. You would have two memory cards not in sync so wouldn’t easy to get picture in picture playback like true dual does

I have been using several single cameras for many years, but in this day and age with what you can get in dual channel systems i see no reason to do that any more.
I have just put a test sample dual remote camera to use as side cameras, which this new kind of cameras are excellent for, and for front and rear use i have the SG9663DC which are a conventional dual system with a "larger" front main unit and a small rear camera on a wire.

The dual remote style cameras are still not quite there, quality are going to be fine ASO, but they haven't really hit the market yet, but i am sure there will be a few to choose among before the X mas present rush.
But for a front / rear system the current ones do just as good, only if you have a rare and particular badly build car in regard to windscreen layout will the current systems be less useful,,,, but that's pretty rare, normally you can always do a good and stealthy install.

With todays' camera options the only 'real world' advantage that may offset the previously mentioned disadvantages of dual single cameras would be if you had the same single cameras front and rear and the front camera failed it could easily be swapped with the one in the rear. Other than that there is no advantage.