U1000 - Is it possible to turn off WiFi?

TakeAwayTheKeys

Reaction score
Country
United States
On the rare times that I need to review footage, I take out the SIM card and watch it on the PC viewer. I used the phone app back when I set it up, I don't think I've even used it since. The way I use it, WIFI adds no value. But WIFI is a security risk.
  • Is there a setting to disable it? I don't see anything in the manual or website.
  • If not, is there something physically I can do, like opening the case and clipping a wire to the antenna? I'm not an electrical engineer, you might have to do something like solder in a resistor to match the impedance. I would need instructions for that.
  • Failing both of those options, is there another dashcam on the market that does not have WIFI?

I'd like to add something if I may - if there is a wifi hotspot added to the car, is it possible to get the blue light to stop flashing all the time? It's ridiculous that we just have to live with this distracting flashing light the entire time we're driving...

I put a piece of black tape over the leds

To be honest i'm not too bothered about the wifi being on.
you can set you own wifi password and even IF they manage to crack that, what do they really have access to?
(OK, recordings of me shouting at other drivers, as I'm the best driver in the world)

you can set you own wifi password and even IF they manage to crack that, what do they really have access to?

WIFI is a stalker's dream. WPA2 can be cracked with the right tools. I don't know to do it myself, but the security guy at work says he knows how. Law enforcement does it.