Using LiPo battery parking mode instead of voltage limiter

fieldofview

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
$60 starter cam: "Car Camcorder P9000, 720p
Hi,
I'm new to dashcams and have started out with a 1080 Cam-AP-P9000. I have a dual USB 3.1 amp cigarette lighter socket providing power to the camera through a USB cable. The power socket goes on/off with the ignition and the camera starts up and shuts down on its own so that works well and is hassle free. The dash cam also has parking/motion detection mode. I understand the voltage discharge limiters cut out below 12v but that you really want to maintain >12v on the car battery. My thought was to use a high capacity Lithium Polymer batter such as the EasyAcc (12,000 mah) or the Anker Astro Pro with 14400mAh capacity. I'm looking at the Anker at $60 CDN. The EasyAcc is about $40 USD available in the US but for some reason it's $186 CDN in Canada so not a consideration.

Most times I wouldn't use parking mode and the cam would be off when the ignition was off. But if I parked at the airport or some other place where I wanted to keep an eye on the car, I'd plug the camera into the battery pack. The advantage is (hopefully) a long run time, but independent of and at no risk of discharging the car battery or getting into a deep cycle situation.

Does anyone have experience with running a dashcam (with LCD off) off such a battery, particularly in parking mode? Decent battery life? There is this post search.php?keywords=easyacc reporting EasyACC running a mirror cam (driving mode?) for a couple of weeks, that sounds promising. For regular driving I'd plug the USB cable back into the 12v 3.1 amp cigarette lighter adapter.

I'm hooked and already looking to upgrade the dashcam to something that automatically switches between drive and parking mode and maybe with accelerometers to detect hits. With the Cam-AP-P9000 camera I have now, I have to turn motion detection on manually every time.

Last edited by a moderator: