VICO MediaPlayer

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
I was just browsing around Vico's site and found the Vico Media Player. I was going to give it a shot, but i tried to open a file from my TF2 and it said to install the K-Lite Codec pack, and my videos play fine in Registrator Viewer so I did not want to fix something that was not broken, but I thought maybe someone else might be interested in giving it a try.

It seems like it supports uploading to YouTube, GPS functions (only Marcus models have GPS I believe.) speed and map display in both MPH and KMH. The version I have is already up to 6.0.0 and this is the first I have seen it. The UI still looks a little rough around the edges.

Download it from Vico's site here.
 
Last edited:

tofurkey

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
21
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Vico-WF1
Really buggy... pressing the open file button takes about 10 seconds to bring up the explorer window, then won't let you navigate around to browse your video files, and hangs. Only works with .mov files as well it seems (so not designed to work with .mp4 which the WF1 uses). And as you said, the graphical interface is really not too professional looking.

This will take a fair bit of development, I think.
 
OP
CheckYourLights

CheckYourLights

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
2,840
Reaction score
951
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Front&Rear-SH800/ Front 2nd Vico-Opia 2
Also just in case anyone is curious it needs to be installed. (Unlike Registrator Viewer witch only needs to run) If you need to uninstall it it is listed as N/A in Windows Uninstall Programs in the Control Panel.
 

tofurkey

Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
21
Country
Canada
Dash Cam
Vico-WF1
I used the uninstall.exe file that was created in the program directory on installation to do the uninstall, not through Control Panel. Worked fine.
 

isdoo

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2014
Messages
116
Reaction score
20
Country
United Kingdom
Where do you get the codec from?
 

isdoo

Member
Joined
Mar 5, 2014
Messages
116
Reaction score
20
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks - there are various sites which I have never heard of.

Went to one (cnet I think) and the comment was that a virus was in the download.

A bit poor that vicovation would require a third party download and not provide the files :(
 

jokiin

Well-Known Member
Manufacturer
Joined
Jan 27, 2013
Messages
46,472
Reaction score
25,236
Location
Sydney, Australia ~ Shenzhen, China
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
Too many ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
video codecs is one of those problem areas, it's very hard to know how you have configured your system, what other codecs you already have etc, if you want to build a lightweight player that's not a resource hog you use the native codecs, earlier versions of Windows don't have what's required and if you include something that clashes with what an end user might have on their system it still has issues, the K-Lite codec pack has everything that is required and then some, this is the site I download it from when needed http://codecguide.com/download_kl.htm
 

Similar threads


Top