VIOFO A118 Not Loop recording

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
My VIOFO A118 is not working properly.
1. not loop recording. It records until the card is full, and then says card full, and doesn't keep recording.
2. not recording in 3 min loops either. They are around 40 min or so each recording.

Version: A118C2_20161008_V1.0
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
Check parameters.
There is a parameter called "loop recording" or so.
Set to 3, 5 or 10 min (I don't remember options)
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
and disable motion detection...
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
This dashcam does not have a parking mode...
Motion detection is useless on this type of dahscam
 
OP
David Sheets

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
This dashcam does not have a parking mode...
Motion detection is useless on this type of dahscam

So, you cannot use the motion detection if it always has power? I wonder then why it has that feature?
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
This motion detection features exists for many years because dashcams had previously batteries with longer life.
Anyway, it has never worked well.

Does you Viofo has a battery or capacitor ?
 
OP
David Sheets

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
This motion detection features exists for many years because dashcams had previously batteries with longer life.
Anyway, it has never worked well.

Does you Viofo has a battery or capacitor ?

It is a capacitor model, but I have it wired to constant power, as I want it to monitor when parked as well.
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
OK, so with a capacitor you can leave it running in parking mode.
Just disable motion detection and it will record continuously.
If 4 hours is not enough for you parking time, try a 64GB card in FAT32 to get 8 hours of parking time.
 
OP
David Sheets

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
FYI, my car is an EV, so the battery is not going to run down. :)
 

chris-s

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 8, 2014
Messages
1,075
Reaction score
356
Country
France
Dash Cam
Blackvue DR750S-2CH and many chinese dashcams
You have found a way to connect the dashcam to the "big" battery ?
I thought it was impossible
 
OP
David Sheets

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
You have found a way to connect the dashcam to the "big" battery ?
I thought it was impossible

No, its wired to the supplied power in the headliner (Tesla Model S), but I think if the voltage is below a certain point, the 12V battery power is shutdown. It's for a dash cam, but I don't have anything like the power magic pro or anything, though I guess I could get one.. I have this dash cam, so I figured I'd use it.
 
OP
David Sheets

David Sheets

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Country
United States
I verified that in the model S the 12V battery is charged from the main pack, so unless the main pack dies, you always have 12V.

What is the largest memory card the A118 can take?
Is there a recommended card speed or type?
 
Top