Viofo A139 2ch constantly beeping

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, just bought an A139 2ch direct from Viofo UK. I have installed it in my MX5 using the supplied cigarette lighter power socket. I am also using the Viofo supplied 256 GB SD card. I had no strange issues installing - it was very straight forward. I’ve installed 3 different dash cams in the past so this isn’t something new to me.

I’ve been having problems since day one with this camera. It constantly beeps as if it’s lost power or is power cycling. It will say “recording one channel started” even though I have two channels. It will beep, then reboot and say “recording two channel started”. This will last for a little while and then it will just start beeping non stop. It’s quite frustrating. Seems to happen when I’m driving on rough surfaces.

I’ve updated the firmware to the latest on the site (I think it’s 1.5) Any suggestions?
 

Nath

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
833
Reaction score
493
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
Dual A139-3CH, Dual Viofo A129Pro-2CH
If it acts like this even at the latest firmware, RMA the whole setup. Probably defective cable but you shouldn't be the one to make the investigation... (you can try it by wiggling the cable in connectors)

Btw: I assume you properly clicked the cable in place. :)
 

TonyM

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2013
Messages
4,631
Reaction score
4,374
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
Mobius, SG, Viofo
If it acts like this even at the latest firmware, RMA the whole setup. Probably defective cable but you shouldn't be the one to make the investigation... (you can try it by wiggling the cable in connectors)

Btw: I assume you properly clicked the cable in place. :)
Agree. That sounds like a loose or damaged cable, if the rear camera is occasionally dropping the connection.
 

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
222
Reaction score
157
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
Is the cable securely connected to both the rear camera and the front camera? They should fit quite secure with no real movement once in place. I know a few others have had loose connections. Worth trying it connected as the interior camera also to see if that makes a difference.
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
9,209
Reaction score
8,017
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Numerous and ever-changing
Is the cable securely connected to both the rear camera and the front camera? They should fit quite secure with no real movement once in place. I know a few others have had loose connections. Worth trying it connected as the interior camera also to see if that makes a difference.
Bullseye (y) It's a known problem and this is how to diagnose things. It seems to be a bad batch of cable sockets to me, so only a main cam replacement will cure it correctly, but if the cabin socket works well it can still be used as a 2-channel with nothing lost.

Phil
 
OP
N

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks all - the rear camera connector does not firmly plug into the main camera body. It wiggles. This makes me believe it is a faulty camera socket or wire. I’ve contacted the manufacturer.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,756
Reaction score
2,150
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo, GitUp
Thanks all - the rear camera connector does not firmly plug into the main camera body. It wiggles. This makes me believe it is a faulty camera socket or wire. I’ve contacted the manufacturer.
Did you push in firmly until you hear a defined click?
 
OP
N

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Did you push in firmly until you hear a defined click?
Yes. It still seems to be loose.

When I compare the wire connections on the main unit and the rear camera they’re very different. The connection to the actual rear camera is firm and does not “wiggle” but the connection to the main camera is more loose.
 

mrpk

Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2021
Messages
65
Reaction score
14
Location
Home
Country
Canada
Yes. It still seems to be loose.

When I compare the wire connections on the main unit and the rear camera they’re very different. The connection to the actual rear camera is firm and does not “wiggle” but the connection to the main camera is more loose.
Yes main camera is somewhat loose typically, did you maybe pinch the cable when doing install, they are not the strongest cables. Tried the camera on desk or just did the install and then tried it ? Cable is most likely the issue, try putting rear camera into the int. port and see if that makes any difference, if so.. it's not the cable but the port on camera that is issue.
 
OP
N

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Yes main camera is somewhat loose typically, did you maybe pinch the cable when doing install, they are not the strongest cables. Tried the camera on desk or just did the install and then tried it ? Cable is most likely the issue, try putting rear camera into the int. port and see if that makes any difference, if so.. it's not the cable but the port on camera that is issue.
Today I unplugged the rear camera cable on the main unit and plugged it into the interior port. Drove for 30 miles with no problems at all. So, makes me think the rear camera port on the main unit is defective.

I’m used to working with fragile cables (such as fibre optic) so was very careful with the install. Seems to be a defective main unit.
 

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
222
Reaction score
157
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
Today I unplugged the rear camera cable on the main unit and plugged it into the interior port. Drove for 30 miles with no problems at all. So, makes me think the rear camera port on the main unit is defective.

I’m used to working with fragile cables (such as fibre optic) so was very careful with the install. Seems to be a defective main unit.
It sure sounds that way, does it feel any more secure in that port?
 
OP
N

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
It sure sounds that way, does it feel any more secure in that port?
Honestly it’s hard to tell. It still wiggles a little on the interior port but it does not set off the beeps or switch to one channel mode. I’ve just driven it another 30 miles and it was working perfectly. Definitely a defective port on the main unit.

Viofo support is being a bit strange now and have suggested I keep a defective unit since ”I only need two cameras.” I may add an interior camera later, so I have asked for a replacement. So far, no response but that may be due to support’s time zone. I’m shocked they even suggested I keep a defective product! :mad:
 

Mtrev

Active Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
222
Reaction score
157
Location
Shropshire
Country
United Kingdom
Honestly it’s hard to tell. It still wiggles a little on the interior port but it does not set off the beeps or switch to one channel mode. I’ve just driven it another 30 miles and it was working perfectly. Definitely a defective port on the main unit.

Viofo support is being a bit strange now and have suggested I keep a defective unit since ”I only need two cameras.” I may add an interior camera later, so I have asked for a replacement. So far, no response but that may be due to support’s time zone. I’m shocked they even suggested I keep a defective product! :mad:
I can see their angle but in reality as you say, the option is there to expand to a 3 channel plus the possibility of if you sold it. Switching to the interior port gives a suitable diagnostic test but if the camera is faulty then you’re within your rights to want it replaced.
 
OP
N

Nixxx

New Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2021
Messages
8
Reaction score
6
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Quick update from me... Viofo support (I think in China) RMA'ed the front camera body. They initially wanted me to ship it all the way back to China and when I inquired why... they let me send it to the UK distributor instead. UK distributor (Mycrocam) was awesome and swapped it out in record speed. New front camera arrived, plugged it in and it's working perfectly. The rear camera plugged in with a hefty snap and is not wobbly/wiggly like the original camera body was. So, the root cause was a defective rear camera port on the camera body.

I'm still running the stock firmware V1.1_0324. Should I update?
 

Nath

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2017
Messages
833
Reaction score
493
Country
Germany
Dash Cam
Dual A139-3CH, Dual Viofo A129Pro-2CH
Yes, there are some fixes and improvements. Plus in beta v1.6 there are even other additional features and it works ok.

Viofo support is being a bit strange now and have suggested I keep a defective unit since ”I only need two cameras.” I may add an interior camera later, so I have asked for a replacement. So far, no response but that may be due to support’s time zone. I’m shocked they even suggested I keep a defective product! :mad:
Wow, I completely missed this part. Seems like even @viofo can be pretty sketchy (not to mention recent bad supercaps issue of another user). No matter their point of view, once the product is faulty, it should be replaced/repaired without any hassle.
 

Amu

New Member
Joined
May 27, 2021
Messages
12
Reaction score
7
Location
France
Country
France
Had the same problem. Viofo offered an exchange of the main unit but as I am only using two channel, I plugged the rear cam to the interior connector and since then I don't have any issue anymore. (y)
Exchange would have meant for me to send the cam back to china on my costs ... As I will never put an interior camera, this solution is fine for me.
 
Top