What gauge is the cable & how long is it?

Vanquished

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
Hey Everyone,

I have the B40/A118 dash cam, bought from Gearbest. I recently purchased a new vehicle and unfortunately I only have 2 DC outlets now (and only one that is on/off with ignition). As a result of this I need to combine cellphone and dashcam to one outlet.

Does anyone know what gauge wire the original charger is? Also how long is it? I'm looking at a 10 foot 22 Gauge USB-Mini USB cable but I want to make sure it's 'strong' enough to power this dashcam.

I do have the original cable but I don't have it with me and was looking to order the replacement cable today.

Any help would be great,

Thanks!
 
OP
Vanquished

Vanquished

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
The unit will probably only draw a max of 1A if that helps? I think 22 gauge will be more than enough.

Found this if it helps


http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html

Thanks! I will be using it with this adapter (already owned) https://www.amazon.com/gp/B013QVDK2Y

I was looking at those first but I'm really interested in saving space. My Challenger (for as big a car as it is) has no storage space so the USB outlet adapter would be best for me. Also when removing the power cable from my Charger I had to cut it (couldn't get it out of the headliner) and splice it back together so probably best I get a new cable, lol.
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
7,912
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Yes
do you have any electronics in the overhead console, such as sunroof controls, a trip computer, compass, etc? if you do, you could tap into that and use a mini-USB hardwire kit so that you don't need to use a lighter socket at all. just don't splice the usb cable directly into any car wires - the car runs in 12v, and usb is 5v, so you'll let out all the magic smoke from the camera. ;)

in my wife's highlander, i tapped into the sunroof controls, since they get turned off with the key. in my truck, i don't have a sunroof, but there was an optional overhead compass/temp display unit , and the wiring was already there, so i just tapped into that for dashcam power.

as an added bonus, you don't have to fish wires thru the dash or A-pillars!
 
OP
Vanquished

Vanquished

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
I've got an auto dimming mirror with homelink and the 911 assist, but my challenger does not have a sunroof like my Charger did.

I trade cars so frequently though that I never like to make permanent changes (also always nervous about splicing the wires on a car lol)
 

Gibson99

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
7,912
Location
Houston, we've had a problem, Texas
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Yes
I've got an auto dimming mirror with homelink and the 911 assist, but my challenger does not have a sunroof like my Charger did.

I trade cars so frequently though that I never like to make permanent changes (also always nervous about splicing the wires on a car lol)
If the auto dimming mirror was dealer-installed, it's probably already spliced in. The ones I installed at Toyota were. So you could probably tap into its wires inside the headliner.
 
OP
Vanquished

Vanquished

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
22 gauge will be better than what it comes with now

Cool, how long is the original cable? I know length makes a difference with regards to required gauge. What is the minimum you think I could do? Would 28 gauge at 10 feet be too small? The 22 gauge I had found was Micro-USB not mini-usb :( Thanks!

EDIT: The cable pictured at this link is the one mine came with: https://streetguardian.info/sg9665gps-single-cam.html

If the auto dimming mirror was dealer-installed, it's probably already spliced in. The ones I installed at Toyota were. So you could probably tap into its wires inside the headliner.

Factory option/standard, it's connected to the uconnect system (I can turn its dimming function off/on from the touch screen). So no go there, thanks!
 

FasrCam

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2013
Messages
30
Reaction score
10
Country
United States
I used a servo wires (bought on eBay) and removed a white one leaving it with two wires. One cable is 2 meters and the other (rear) is 4.
Works like a charm.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0548.JPG
    IMG_0548.JPG
    58.6 KB · Views: 14
OP
Vanquished

Vanquished

New Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2014
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Country
United States
I used a servo wires (bought on eBay) and removed a white one leaving it with two wires. One cable is 2 meters and the other (rear) is 4.
Works like a charm.

That's really cool. Would be a heck of a lot easier to get through some of the places I had to fish the cable through, lol.

I ended up buying a mono-price 10 foot mini-usb cable for $4. Works perfectly with my USB 12v charger.
Here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/390989683318
Thanks for the help!
 
Top