What kinds of cables, to mount A118C as rearcam on MiniVan?

frances763

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hello everyone, I have a A118C which i want to use it as rear cam on my Honda Odyssey. I am not good at mechanics. I only know to buy a longer extension cables to plug it at the adapter at the front. The longest cable I can find is 15ft, which is not long enough.

Please help/advice what kind of cable I need to purchase to get the rear cam to work?

doesn't your van have a 12v "lighter" socket in the back? my 2008 toyota sienna has one. that would make it very easy, no need for extension cables.

otherwise you might consider a hardwire kit, and then you can just use speaker wire to extend the 12v wiring going to the adapter.

Reactions: csh
My Van is 2005 model, I don't recognize it at the back. I will try again to look for it. But if there isn't one, the hardwire kit method is quite difficult steps to me. I have no idea how to do it. I watched some videos on youtube.

I thought the extension cables plug to the front outlet is the easiest way to me.

well a 15 ft extension combined with the 10 ft of the original cable ought to be plenty to get to the front of the van. on my sienna, the 12v outlet in the back has a gray flip-up cover to match the gray interior, and it's not far away from the cargo area light on the left wall. obviously hondas will probably look different, but if it's there, it's probably not hidden. perhaps just a little recessed so cargo coming in or out won't snag on it.

Thank you Gibson99, I will look carefully again.

You can find 25ft USB to Mini USB cables on Amazon. Or maybe even check out monoprice and see if they can cut you a longer cable.