why is battery bad for dash cams in hot weather but not for bluetooth speakers or other devices?

DieselFish

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm a newbie.

I read many threads in this forum about how having a built-in rechargeable Li-ion battery is bad for dash cams
in hot weather. (even when the car is parked under the sun) Some have said the best solution is a capacitor
instead of a battery.

However, my Jabra Bluetooth speakerphone on my visor has a built-in Li-ion battery and it has survive 100+
degree weather for several summers. Before that, my previous visor-mounted no-frills Bluetooth
speakerphone also got along just fine for 5+ years. I never take my cell phones out of the car because they
are factory cell phones that have their own mounts inside the center armrest. Their batteries also never gave
me any troubles.

So how come a battery is bad when it comes to dash cams? Is it because they usually use unreliable batteries?

Stick it in the window and you'll magnify the problem, constantly charging it, or worse, permanently powering it makes it even more risky

I think because the many dash cams use the cheapest and lowest quality batteries available to cut costs. Also the camera mounts directly to the windshield which in direct sunlight is probably the hottest place in the whole car.

I talked to my local chemistry expert about Li-ion batteries, excessive heat is the enemy of all batteries, but the Li-ion battery holds up to excessive heat the best.

The end result will depend on the quality of the battery and if it's in the sun or in shade. A direct hit by the sun will make it a lot hotter.

Maybe gel-batteries could be a solution ?