Wife's A119S acting up.

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
The wife's A119S is acting up. When it powers up the display only shows BCH's dice logo. I pulled the memory and took a look at it on my computer and the cam doesn't appear to have done any actual recording since 9/17/20. Once powered up it only responds to the ON/OFF switch. I can turn the cam off but when I turn it back on again I only get BCH's dice logo and the model # on the display. None of the other buttons do anything as far as I can tell. Any guidance you can provide would be much appreciated.
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
6,466
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Have you tested the card?

Phil
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
Well... I tried it in my 119S and it works fine.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
26,544
Reaction score
15,072
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
The memory card are often the weak link in any dashcam, and then going into read only mode are not unusual.
So i would at least see if you could delete a file or two on the card and copy a file of some sort to the memory card, if you cant do that there is a issue with the memory card.
What memory card are you using, and where did you get it from ?
how long have the camera / memory card been in service ??

Good memory card test softwares are H2testw and crystaldiskmark.
You will want to test all memory space on the memory card, not just a little free space.

If the memory card are fine, then yes you might have a issue with the camera.
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
The cards in hers and my 119S cams are Samsung 64G EVO cards.
 

kamkar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
26,544
Reaction score
15,072
Country
Denmark
Dash Cam
10 years, many dashcams
Should be good then if the card work well in your camera, but there are many fake cards around for sure, so always a good idea to buy from a reputable seller.
You can try to load the firmware again, or a newer firmware, i have had that resolve a problem with a Street Guardian camera a few years ago.
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
Reloading the FW was the first thing I tried. It didn't help. I'm thinking the cam is toast.
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
6,466
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Did you set the cam to "default settings" after reflashing? If not then do another reflash and try that.

Phil
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
6,466
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
Also might want to look at THIS thread here where the exact same issue was dealt with.
Also an A119-A119S troubleshooting guide HERE

Phil
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
After reloading the FW the cam would only display BCH's dice logo. The cam only responds to the OFF button. When I turn it back on again the display shows the dice and the REC button lights up. And though the REC button is illuminated the cam is not actually recording anything since the last file is dated 9/17

Gotta run for now. I'll take a look at the link later.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
1,875
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Might be worthwhile reseating the image sensor ribbon cable. While your in there, inspect the capacitors for any bulging at their bottom.
 

SawMaster

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2015
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
6,466
Location
SC
Country
United States
Dash Cam
G1W-S, G1W-HC, G1W clone, B1W, K2S, B2W, (ex N2Pro & Mobius)
OK but note the first thread is for the A119 non-"S" version but the procedure(s) will be similar for you.

Phil
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
Well I’ve completed all the recommended steps and procedures and none of them have made a difference. This cam is going in the trash.

FWIW, the caps inside the cam have already been upgraded to the higher temp versions, lens upgraded, etc. that were all recommended by BCH months ago.
 

CaptureYourAction

Well-Known Member
Retailer
Joined
Feb 6, 2016
Messages
3,472
Reaction score
1,875
Location
New England
Country
United States
Dash Cam
DOD, Dome Technologies, VicoVation, Viofo, GitUp
Well I’ve completed all the recommended steps and procedures and none of them have made a difference. This cam is going in the trash.

FWIW, the caps inside the cam have already been upgraded to the higher temp versions, lens upgraded, etc. that were all recommended by BCH months ago.
Did you replace the whole lens/image sensor setup or just the lens? If you have another image sensor, you could try that one.
 
OP
S

Stephen13

New Member
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
22
Reaction score
9
Country
United States
Thanks for all your help everyone. The cam has been tossed in the trash. We'll look into a higher quality unit to replace it.
 
Top