The best segment length or does it matter?

GJHS

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius A & C, SJ4000, M10, Mini 0806, Innovv C3,4, Xiaomi Yi
When I first came to this forum, I was researching the mini 0801 and remember reading that the best segment length is 5 mins because it's harder for the camera to constantly create new files. So when I got my Mobius, I set it accordingly.
Yesterday I was looking though the RC Forums on the initial thread started to announce that the Mobius would be coming. @Mtz asked if the segment length would only be 5 mins because for dash cams is too big. Which, of course, made me ask what is ideal? Is there a difference?

For reference
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1890774&highlight=mobius new

Last edited:
I'm a newbie on here but i have mine set at 1 minute - on the grounds that if there is an accident and you have to show the police anything, its easier to go back and review a minute or possibly review two x 1 min video segments, as that's probably the only bit thats relevant to most accidents. If there's a 5 minute segment then there's a lot to wade through if time is of the essence. you can always save/lock those last 5 x 1 minute segments anyway. Ideally i'd probably opt for a 2 minute segment but i only have 1, 3 and 5 mins to chose from.

I like to keep mine to about 3 mins although my TF2 is 5 min only.
It is defiantly more manageable that way. Luckily the TF2 Event Record is a 1 min clip.