Don't let this fool u in judging video quality

extraoneya

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
2 Finevu Pros for front & rear
I'm brand new to both DCs & video. I do however have extensive experience in painting on the computer* & photo editing.

Initially, I've been focused (1st pun) in how to mount the DCs. I'm now doing some preliminary testing w/ my 2 Finevu Pros. I'm impressed w/ the vid output of the cams but I could see that they use what appear to be an aggressive sharpening effect.

A quick look at the output might result in a person saying, "Wow, what a great picture". But upon closer examination u can see the sharpen effect

Look at the snapshot of a small part of one of my first vids. The white lines alongside the telephone pole result from too much sharpening. I'm sure other brands do the same thing...it just depends on how they implement any effects. This snapshot was from a vid played back on VLC at it's original size w/o any effect added & saved as a unedited png. I run the DC at 1600x900 @ 30fps (the higher resolution only uses 15fps).

As I said, this is a first impression, & doesn't really alter my favorable opinion of the Finevu Pros. The effect isn't as apparent on close or different shaped objects like tress etc. I'm posting this just to inform folks that they should look at the entire picture (2nd pun) before making a decision on where their money goes.

vlcsnap-2014-01-30-10h17m07s58.png

*That means I use computer programs & a Wacom tablet to create paintings. It doesn't mean that I sit on a computer while painting w/ oils & brush.

There are many techniques dashcam manufacturers using how to "cheat" us by providing @ yours "Wow, what a great picture" ;) , but as you stated here, - at the end of the day sooner or later we all find out !
P.S. - picture attached is too small to examine it.