HK4 Hardwire Kit Wires?

kiakiatortilla

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys,

I'm not too experienced with wires and wire quality... however after some research I've figured that as the gauging number of the wire is lower, the more current it can handle. Currently, pretty much all of the fuse taps I've come across are 16 AWG wires, which on the box it says 2-10A fuse recommended but online I found that the max recommended amperage for 16awg wires is 7.5A. If someone can explain that discrepancy I'd really appreciate it.

However, the main point of this thread is that the battery and acc wires in the HK4 hardwire kit come with 20 awg wires..... which in the online datasheet it says are rated for max 3A. So wouldn't this be a hazard, considering most of us probably have 5A fuses on them?

I also haven't crimped the two together yet, but I'm not sure if trying to crimp a 16awg wire with the 20awg using the blue butt connector is safe, since the blue connector says it's for 16-14awg wires.

Thanks.

Welcome!... I would recommend 2-5A fuse for the tap. And you can easily crimp a 16awg and a 20awg wires with either a blue or red butt connector. However, soldering is always best.

Hey guys,

I'm not too experienced with wires and wire quality... however after some research I've figured that as the gauging number of the wire is lower, the more current it can handle. Currently, pretty much all of the fuse taps I've come across are 16 AWG wires, which on the box it says 2-10A fuse recommended but online I found that the max recommended amperage for 16awg wires is 7.5A. If someone can explain that discrepancy I'd really appreciate it.

However, the main point of this thread is that the battery and acc wires in the HK4 hardwire kit come with 20 awg wires..... which in the online datasheet it says are rated for max 3A. So wouldn't this be a hazard, considering most of us probably have 5A fuses on them?