Which one to get? Any thoughts? ?

ddtstartrex

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I am looking to buy my first dash cam i am a trucker so i need something that has good day / night / GPS / and good suction cup to handle the rough ride

I thought gps might be good, i heard people talk about it, why you do not think gps on a dash cam is a good thing dash riposki?

russ331, thanks for the link, but they do not come with a suction cup? I am not in the same truck all the time.

I was looking at these two

DOD LS460W

BlackVue DR650GW-1CH

BlackVue DR3500-FHD

Last edited by a moderator:
Last edited by a moderator:
I thought the SGZC12SG was supplied with a suction cup, however, it's an optional extra.

SGZC12SG comes from factory with very strong suction cup mount. One of the strongest I ever experienced.

I'm a trucker, also.
I'm not sure what you are expecting from a dashcam with a GPS?

My preference is for dash cams that use a standard tripod mount, which there are many. Much easier to move from truck to truck, re-position in the truck, and there are many aftermarket mounts that are inexpensive and work well.

The GPS on most dashcams only will show a speed on the screen, which you won't be able to read in a big truck, and imprints speed and location data on the save file. You'll need special software to see this data. (this is my understanding of the GPS stuff, and I have one cam with GPS)
Since it sounds like you 'slip seat', I'd avoid a camera with a proprietary, usually plastic, mount. Meaning some sort of plastic mounting plate you slide the cam on, and then there may be a ball and socket adjustable thing, and a suction cup.
Go for one with the standard 1/4 x 20 tripod mount.

I'd suggest you look at a mobius, but if it freaks you out or seems over your head, maybe a more traditional camera with a screen will work.