A118C shutting down when cranking the car's starter motor.

Guv

Reaction score
Country
New Zealand
Hi everyone.
I am new to the world of DVR and have just found your forums. So much great information, which I wish I'd seen before purchasing a DVR.
I recently bought an A118 battery version mail order. And it is great. I bought it as a first camera to test in both our vehicles before buying more. I have used it with an auxillary power cord from the cigarette lighter in one of my cars and by use of a hard wired power supply from the fuse box in our second car and it works great in both cars. We've been swapping the unit between cars. It runs fine starts automatically and shuts down after a short while about 8 seconds when power is switched off. I have been very happy and impressed with it.
After 9 days usage it paid for itself when someone reversed into the front of my car causing much damage. without the camera it would have been hard to prove I was not at fault. So it has easily paid for itself within 9 days.
Based on this I bought a second A118, having decided it was good value, good image quality well priced, compared to local stores less than half the price and seemingly reliable. I decided to buy the A118C.