Bit rate on Rear Camera different to that of the front

Demo

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I have the A229 Pro 2 channel.Today I noticed that the bitrate for the front camera video is 59.87Mbit/s but that of the rear is 23.82 Mbit/s. Is this normal? In the menu I have selected Maximum bit rate and there is no option for different bit rates front and rear. This is happening at 2560 x 1440 and also at 2560 x1080 for the rear. I have the latest firmware.

I have put the question to Viofo but thought I would ask here also.

Last edited:
I have the A229 Pro 2 channel.Today I noticed that the bitrate for the front camera video is 59.87Mbit/s but that of the rear is 23.82 Mbit/s. Is this normal? In the menu I have selected Maximum bit rate and there is no option for different bit rates front and rear. This is happening at 2560 x 1440 and also at 2560 x1080 for the rear. I have the latest firmware.

I'm not an expert but logic dictates that the front camera's bitrate is higher than the rear one because the front camera is 4K and the rear one is 2K. If you change both camera's resolutions to be the same let's say 2K I would assume the bitrate would then be the same. You can test it out yourself.

The front sensor has 2x the pixels of the rear, thus twice the detail, so if recording at 4K front and 2K rear, you would expect the front to have about 2x the bitrate. The front image also tends to be more important, so it does normally get some extra priority on bitrate.

59.87Mbit/s is very high for a front dashcam, it is over 2x the maximum on most 4K dashcams.
23.82 Mbit/s is also very high for a rear dashcam, again about 2x the typical bitrate for a rear dashcam.

This is happening at 2560 x 1440 and also at 2560 x1080 for the rear.