Dash Cam for Taxi

Damyan

Reaction score
Country
Bulgaria
Hello,

I am a taxi driver and I want to improve my safety and security from criminals. I have already a DVR with 3 channels, but in my own opinion it is not enough.

In a bad scenario for me a criminal could grab the DVR and I will have no evidence. I am looking for a DVR could recorde directly to a hard disk or SSD which is hidden anywhere in the car. Even the DVR is stolen I wish the recorded to be safed. Also, I have looked for DVRs which work with a cloud, but I am not really sure how they work and is it possible the DVR to record on my PC via 5 G SIM card.

The last requirement could improve my safety is that the DVR to has a night vision cabin camera, because I work in the night.

Thank you in advance for helping me in improving of the safety :)

Welcome to the forum Damyan.
There are a few dashcams that have all ( mostly 2 ) cameras remote on wires from the main unit, this mean you can put that in a hard to get to place, you could even put them in some sort of locked metal enclosure, though then the wifi will of course not be able to reach it.
The problem is none of these have the option for IR aided low light recordings, so in that case you will only have footage of the passenger when there is light in the cabin ( most likely when people enter the car )

The cloud enabled cameras are not able to upload to your home NAS or PC, they are relying on a host service set up by the brand, often this is also just event footage and not all recordings as that will fast burn a lot of mobile data, also ATM the cameras are just 4G there is no 5G cameras as far as i know, of some of the smart cameras that do have cloud access that via a mobile internet modem of your choice and this could of course be 5G