Dashcam as stationary daytime meteor camera?

Fireballs

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am pondering using a dashcam type system as a stationary daytime meteor/fireball camera for scientific purposes. I would have the camera under a clear plexiglass dome pointing up to the zenith of the sky and running during the daylight hours.

I am just beginning to explore this so any thoughts are welcome.

Question: If I run the camera all day would that create one large file on a memory card? Is it possible to program the recording to be continuous ten minute files?

Would direct sunlight damage the sensor? Or is there an iris in these cameras that stops it down?

Do you have any camera and/or lens recommendations for this application?

I am thanking you all in advance for any replies.

Thomas

I am pondering using a dashcam type system as a stationary daytime meteor/fireball camera for scientific purposes. I would have the camera under a clear plexiglass dome pointing up to the zenith of the sky and running during the daylight hours.

Question: If I run the camera all day would that create one large file on a memory card? Is it possible to program the recording to be continuous ten minute files?
Most will give you a sequence of 5 minute files which can be joined back together, if they fill the card then they make more space by deleting the oldest.
Would direct sunlight damage the sensor? Or is there an iris in these cameras that stops it down?
No iris in a dashcam but they don't seem to mind pointing directly at the sun, at least not at normal angles of use. If you were to point it directly south at the angle of midday sun then a filter to cut down the light might be sensible, for pointing at the zenith I would think it will be fine, depending on where you are of course!
What field of view do you need, most dashcams are very wide angle...