Do I need to hardwire my Vantrue N1 Pro to use parking mode?

StarBlocked

Reaction score
Country
United States
I recently got a Vantrue N1 Pro to with a recently purchased RV. I was excited to use the parking mode, but I'm not sure the best way to do that. I'm totally new to all this, although I've tried to do a ton of reading, so please forgive any stupid questions.

I don't really understand why I would need to hardwire the N1 Pro to use the parking mode. First, the camera itself has a battery. Since it's using a motion detector instead of recording nonstop, the power draw shouldn't be too high, right? On top of that, doesn't hardwiring to the battery drain the battery exactly the same as plugging into the cigarette adapter? Or is the problem that the cigarette adapter turns off when the car is turned off?

I've also thought about plugging it into one of the outlets that's connected to the house battery, so that it only drains the house battery (which should then be recharged once I start driving). For example, this camera has two charging options: the cigarette adapter cord plugs into the windshield suction cup mount, or the micro USB data cord plugs into the side of the camera itself and can provide charge if I connect it to a wall charger.

However, I'm so new to all this that I'm afraid anything I choose will be a mistake. How do I figure this out?

recording or not the camera use close to the same amount of power, but if it is motion detect it will probably be recording close to all the time anyway, of course depending on how much motion there is where you park.
In general it don't take much or large moving objects to set off motion detect, but of course if you park facing a wall there will not be much motion for the camera to capture.

Your cameras battery are not really for recording, its there to finalize the current recording in case of a event where power get cut, the battery are probably lass than 500 mah in size.