Explanation of menu choices

laflaone

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Viofo A229 Pro, 3 ch
First, I am new to dashcams, and new to the forum. This is my first post, so if this is a stupid question, please cut me a little slack. I have a 2020 Subaru Forester Limited. I just bought and installed a Viofo A229 Pro, 3 channel. Since I am 81 and not as limber as I once was, installation was interesting. Particularly putting in the parking mode hardware kit. I also successfully upgraded the firmware to the new November release. (Viofo's website still has the 9/28 version as the latest. Why is that?) Anyway, to my question: Has anyone produced a comprehensive written guide explaining all the menu choices? A lot is common sense, but a lot is over the head for a newbie like me. Thanks. BTW, as far as forums go, this appears to be a good one.

There's some explanations here of the app settings, the settings in the camera are the same, skip to 35:30

A lot is common sense, but a lot is over the head for a newbie like me.
First, do take note that normally, the defaults are the best settings for nearly everyone, and if you don't understand an option then it is best not to change from the default!

You are welcome to ask here about any that you don't understand, they are all common sense and obvious once you know what they are, so nobody ever thinks it is worth writing a description!

Welcome to the forum laflaone.
WTF ??? there is a Jensen beach in FL,,,,,,,, this guy from the land of the Jensens like that.

I do not change very much when setting up a new dashcam.

I set my time zone so that is correct, this mean right now +1 hour for Denmark, but in the summer due to summer time i have to change that to +2 as dashcams do not allow for automatic summer / winter time adjustments like phones and computers would.
Then if its not default i select 3 minute for the video segment size, normally you can choose between 1-2-3-5-10 minutes here.