external monitor for a139 3ch interior cam?

dashcam_newb

Reaction score
Country
United States
I’m a rideshare driver who has settled on the A139 Pro 3-channel as my system of choice. I want to be able to monitor the backseat, and noticed that the main unit in this system has an AV-out.

Does anyone know if this would support outputting the feed from the interior camera? I want to place a small 12v-monitor next to the steering wheel so I can make sure nothing unsafe or illegal is going on in backseat when I’m driving passengers.

Welcome to the forum.

The AV out are just a standard AV signal so you can connect that to a cheap LCD screen or AV in on your car radio if it have that option.
As i recall the AV out will mirror what ever preview you have going on the cameras screen, or in this case of a screen less camera, what screen you have selected as preview in the APP.
Be mindful most dashcams tend to revert to a default setting for the preview, so you probably have to set that after each time you have turned off the car.

I cant recall if there are a button on the A139 that let you toggle preview screen that way, cut since it is a no screen camera i think not ?

You can also just use the wifi and then the APP on a old phone or tablet, that way you do not have to wire anything.

PS. some places having a screen displaying video, i would assume even if its just video of the back seat might be illegal, here in Denmark a NAV unit ASO screen are fine, but any video or TV screen can not be seen by the driver are a problem.

There are no such laws restricting in-vehicle monitoring in Illinois that I’m aware of. I would probably hide the monitor from the driver in any case, though, via a hood or maybe an angle diffuser so only I could look at the screen.

Sucks to hear that the output would have to be re-selected every time but it sounds like this is not for sure; once I get setup I’ll update the thread.