Fresh Meat

MildMethod

Reaction score
Country
Australia
Dash Cam
SG9665GC-V2
Hi all, Im pretty fresh, so I thought this was a good place to get the low down on dashcams and action cams. Looking to buy a dashcam in about a week.

I live in the most southern depths of Australia on a little island state called Tasmania which has a climate with distinct seasons, so a dashcam that can withstand both hot and cold temperatures is a must.

I have a lot of experience with digital SLR cameras, post processing images and videos ( https://www.instagram.com/mike.bk/ ), but pretty much no experience with dashcams.

Looking forward to learning more!

Yeah , probably said a 1000 times , if you want a decent cam you sort of got to spend $50USD as a starting point ....
What is the cam supposed to do ?

Work car , daily driver , or maybe you only drive to Church on Sunday ?
Some battery Cams need to be driven often or the battery ( internal ) goes flat causing all sorts of problems ...
If you dont drive often then possibly a Cam with a capacitor ( the capacitor provides just enough power to save the last file recorded on shut down )
This way ( Capacitor ) you avoid battery problems .. Capacitor cams are also a little more weather tolerant ..

A lot of folks like the G1Wc , but they are hit or miss .. And require educated buying or you may end up with a rubbish cam ..
I also find the G1Wc a little on the low quality side myself ( I own and use one out my back window )
The minimum I would recommend is the A118c , decent quality , a decent price for what you get , and mine has been trouble free since purchase ( Yes I have one )
If you want you can add a GPS receiver at a latter date for GPS data logging ..

Just depends !
There are a lot of budget cams on Ebay , GB and such , but the video quality can vary greatly from terrible to very average ...