Fuse tap for 2022 Ford Fiesta UK.

CliveR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm a dashcam newbie but capable with car electrics. Just want some advice on the best fuses to tap to feed my shiny new Viofo A229 cam.
It's a new Ford Fiesta 2022 UK model.
I just want to be sure I'm trying into circuits that are man enough to take the extra current and are switched correctly (it's keyless ignition).
I attach a picture of the fuse board and a copy of which fuses do what.
The problem is some of the fuse are double so I have to chose ones that are single fuses.
Any advice or others experiences greatly appreciated.
Item Fuse Rating Protected Component
1 5 A Restraints control module.
2 5 A In-vehicle temperature and humidity sensor.
3 10 A Parking assist control module.
4 10 A Ignition switch. Push button ignition switch.
5 20 A Lock. Unlock.
6 10 A Moonroof.
7 30 A Right-hand mirror switch. Right-hand front power windows.
8 Not used.
9 5 A Passenger airbag deactivation indicator. Auto-dimming interior mirror.
10 10 A Data link connector.
11 5 A Telematics modem.
12 5 A Central security module.
13 15 A Child safety locks. Fuel filler door.
14 30 A Left-hand mirror switch. Left-hand front power windows.
15 15 A Not used. Heated steering wheel. Headlamp control module.
16 Not used.
17 15 A Voice control. Information and entertainment display. Compact disc player.
18 Not used.
19 7.5 A Battery back-up sounder.
20 10 A Anti-theft alarm horn.
21 7.5 A Climate control.
22 7.5 A Steering wheel module. Instrument cluster. Data link connector.
23 20 A Audio unit.
24 Not used.
25 Not used.

Attachments

• Screen-Shot-2021-12-03-at-12.09.40-PM.png
    Screen-Shot-2021-12-03-at-12.09.40-PM.png
    104.6 KB · Views: 4
Last edited:
Your main problem is finding a circuit that isn't temporarily dead while the starter motor is cranked.

This is especially important on stop/start vehicles or the dashcam shuts down at every start when the circuit briefly loses power.