Hot swap the 3rd channel?

Phrede

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm waiting on a A139pro-3ch. I have only an occasional need for the interior camera. Has anyone hot connected the interior camera? I'm thinking the higher rates with 2 cameras and dropping down when I need 3.

I don't believe it would be a problem. I mean there were issues with the cables being loose and the camera switches between three/two channels to two/one channel when once gets disconnected.
I'm not sure on the long term if you do that regularly, but once in a while; yeah maybe.
I'm no expert, just stating what I have noticed.

When you say hot swap, do you mean doing it while the dashcam is still on? I haven't tried it since I'd imagine it could cause some issues. Personally I just pull the power cable, plug/unplug cameras as needed, and then power it back on.

The little connectors can be a little delicate and so I like to be careful with them, particularly when plugging things back in. They're easier to damage compared to USB plugs. The cables also lock in pretty securely and so I don't wanna just yank it. IMO it's worth spending a few extra moments doing things carefully to ensure long term reliability.

Like @Vortex Radar stated, I've not tried to hot swap in/out a camera with the A139 Pro. I would recommend pressing the <PWR> button to power down the A139 Pro and insert/remove the cable you want to remove and then press the <PWR> button again to power up the A139 Pro. I've used that approach while I was out driving to gather footage for my A139 Pro review when I was testing 1-CH mode, 2-CH mode and 3-CH mode.

I would make sure you pull the cable from the base (not pulling on the wire) where it's inserted into the A139 Pro front camera. They cable connectors can be a bit stubborn at times when being removed and I'm not sure how resilient they are to repetitive insertions/removals. The same is true on the interior/rear camera end of the cable.