Mobius Not Turning On With Car Ignition - Volts/Amps Study

Grimm

Reaction score
Country
United States
Dash Cam
Mobius B-Front, Mobius A-Rear
Please note I am not an electrician. I know how to use a multimeter. I've wired 2 chandeliers in my home, wired switches, and wired 3 outlets from my breaker box to places in my basement. Simple stuff.

When I was a kid I took my Uncles cool red light from his car, cut off the wires, attached those wires to a household plug and plugged it in. Yes I was punished. Yes my bottom still hurts.

I also use to "shoot" capacitors around my room and sometimes through walls by heating them up with a train transformer. 1 landed in my brother's arm. Yes he cried. No he didnt tell because I threatened to kill him in his sleep.

What I am trying to say is my understanding of electronics and electricity is very, very small. Almost non-existent.

I do, however, know how to read a digital display and write those numbers down on a scrap of paper.

This post is nothing more then that scrap.

With a lot of **** added on.

As recommend my Dashmellow in another thread I bought a Charger Doctor. It tests USB voltage and amps and is a lot easier then trying to stick in probes from a multimeter. As my multimeter is not digital, the digital display of the Charger Doctor comes in handy. It's range is 3.5v-7.0, 0A-3A. It was less then $7.00 with shipping and I plan to get a few more. I recommend getting one if you wish to play along.

I only received the package a few days ago but right after I opened it I immediately started plugging it into things. One of the things I plugged it into was my car charger to Mobius (surprise!).

First, Tests of the individual chargers:

Most Voltage fluctuated between 5.10-5.16. Computer 4.75-4.80.

The car charger is a dual Anker and can deliver 24W/4.8A total and was tested with various things (iPad2, iPhone 4, iPhone 5, Anker E5) and the reading the Charger Doctor gave fell within what was expected of the device.