New Firmware question

Sloop

Reaction score
Country
Australia
As a fairly new owner of the SG9965CG could you enlighten me on when I know new firmware is required for my cameras. I notice on the Street Guardian / info web site it has " What is new " and it states firmware is now available for your SG9965CG but can't see a date when it was issued. I know my cameras would have had the latest firmware installed before receiving them just recently so no need to worry at the moment but just want to make sure for the future. If the cameras are working fine is there still a need to install new firmware when available. As you can tell I am a novice on dash cams so I am still learning.

EditJust noticed when clicking on the firmware link it showed a date of Nov 2015 was that the last one ?

Thank you.

Last edited:
Thanks niko, Is there any need to install firmware if the camera is operating ok and should I wait for the releases other than install Beta versions ? I really do not have much of a clue on what is the right thing to do.

I also think like you: "If it's not broken - don't fix it" ;)
You may find a changelog text file after you download new firmware. There are usually minor changes which most people don't see if comparing present public vs new or beta FW, but of course its worth to keep eye on FW updates.

Thank you niko, I have actually bought two SG 9965CG cameras and they are both working great. Not worried about the gps and time sync as it was no problem putting the time etc in manually . Really impressed with day and night quality. I will take your advice and just keep my eye on FW updates and take it from there, As you say "if it's not broke don't fix it ".

Thank you for your quick reply.

No problem.
You can try any new firmware and always roll back if in need.

Thanks joking, as my cameras are performing beautifully What will the new firmware be improving ?

Thanks joking, as my cameras are performing beautifully What will the new firmware be improving ?