New to dash cams, need help, no power when engine on?

Out2k

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi, newbie here. I seem to have a problem i can not find an answer for. So I got the DR900S-2CH and the PMP (power magic pro) as far as it working that seems ok, cloud, wireless, app.... My problem is weird. As long as the PMP is switched to "on" green light, the DR900 will run while driving and parking mode. Turn the switch "off" green light goes out. If i leave it in the off position and not use parking mode, i get in start the car, DR900 will never turn on unless i turn on the PMP. I have rechecked all connections and fuses a few times.
So i have to always have parking mode on, even when at home and not needed, or i have to reach way down and manually turn the cam on and off from PMP. Any thought's? Thanks in advance!

My problem is weird. As long as the PMP is switched to "on" green light, the DR900 will run while driving and parking mode.
That is the normal operation as designed.
Turn the switch "off" green light goes out.
If PMP is turned OFF, the dashcam will go OFF a short time after you turn the ignition OFF
If i leave it in the off position and not use parking mode, i get in start the car, DR900 will never turn on unless i turn on the PMP.
That is not correct, the cam should startup as soon as the engine starts
I have rechecked all connections and fuses a few times.
Have you checked the setting of the PMP switches? Set the voltage to 12V (assuming a 12V system). If you have it set to 24V, the battery will never get to 24V and the cam will never start.
So i have to always have parking mode on, even when at home and not needed, or i have to reach way down and manually turn the cam on and off from PMP.
That is correct.
Q. How does the PMP know whether you want the cam powered up for parking mode on or not?
A. By manually switching the PMP ON or Off as required.;)