Parking mode, am I going crazy

Micknova

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I'm new to the dashcam world as been holding off until could have one hardwired.

I've now got the nextbase 320xr in front and rear.
I got the camara as it has parking mode (been bumped when parked previously) however I notice when I turn the car off battery always says low.
I understand they only run on Mon power and to get a few impacts should I be so unlucky, however what sort of impact would it record.

Any tips as to how I can test it without breaking my car.

I'm just confused as to whether it's working or not.

How often do dashcams record footage in parking mode?

Am I just been paranoid and it only records when has a real noticeable impact

however I notice when I turn the car off battery always says low.

Are you referring to the dash cam battery or the car battery? If it's a battery on the dash cam, then it sounds like you either aren't driving your car long enough to charge up the dash cam battery or your battery is bad.

I got the camara as it has parking mode (been bumped when parked previously) however I notice when I turn the car off battery always says low.

How often do dashcams record footage in parking mode?

I looked at the manual for your camera:

This is what it said for Parking Mode

Parking Mode
When Parking Mode has been turned on,
the Dash Cam enters standby mode when the 12Vdc
supply has been turned OFF (typically removing your
ignition key).

The Dash Cam will also enter standby mode if no
physical movement is detected for 5 minutes.
Should physical movement of the vehicle be
detected, the Dash Cam will power on and start
recording a 30 second protected video.

If no further physical movement is detected then the
Dash Cam will return to standby mode, if physical
movement is detected subsequently, then the
camera will continue to record normally, i.e. driving
once more.

Options: On and Off
Default: Off