PERMANENT LIVE OR SWITCHED LIVE .......THAT IS THE QUESTION - 402G

Martin68

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Dash Cam
NV522
Hi Guys,
I'm undecided whether or not to connect my 402G to a permanent live or switched live supply. I have tried both methods, with switched live I've set the auto off setting to 10secs (given the reliability of the li-polymer battery),
but a little voice at the back of my mind tells me it would be better connected to a permanent live supply. I am a tech bod and it would only take me 2 minutes at the most to reconfigure the connections at the fuse box.
Li-polymer batteries should never be allowed to go flat and as they are only capable of powering the dash cam for 6 minutes maximum after switching the supply off, can take up to 2 hours to fully recharge. If I remember rightly, the default setting for auto switch off is 3 minutes ..... so if you're only driving for short distances, it's going to flatten pretty quick without any sufficient charge to the battery. That is why, in my opinion, these batteries are so unreliable. Hence my manually setting auto off to 10 secs and thinking in terms of a permanent live connection.

What are everyone's thoughts on the matter ?

Giving it a permanent live will also massively shorten the life of the battery, I have 5 nextbase cams so have some combined 20 years experience, the issue with the batteries is actually that they are using a rubbish charging regime for the lipo's, they are simply being continually stuffed with power and you cannot do this with this chemistry battery, you will find as time goes on way more issues than the battery, that's why my nextbase are put away, likely going to be thrown out.