Rear camera

Grindhouse

Reaction score
Country
United States
I bought a Rexing V1P a few months ago with the rear camera. On Amazon it was suggested in the reviews that the rear camera is weatherproof. It's not, and that's silly since it has IR, so it would just reflect light back at itself off of the back window and wash out the image at night. I am using it on a Chevy Express van with no windows on the side or the back so non weatherproof is useless.

I've been installing security cameras for about 20 years now and understand how an analog video signal works, so I bought a standard backup camera that is weatherproof and a RCA to 1/8 inch connector, this did not work. I verified that the camera does work perfectly by powering it with a 12 VDC transformer and plugged it into my TV.

Does anyone have any experience with this sort of thing? Or how the Rexing rear camera works vs the real world? Maybe even a suggestion for a dash cam with a standard RCA input for the rear camera?

Rexing tech support was useless beyond setup questions. (I'm assuming about the setup questions because I didn't have any)

Welcome to DCT @Grindhouse :)