RedTiger - I formatted my SD card and now the camera won't start in the car and it makes loud beeps when I reconnect it to my computer

JPO

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi. I'm pretty new to dash cams and completely new to formatting SD cards. I screwed up and I need help, please. Here's my story.

Today (May 3, 2024) I connected my RedTiger camera to my laptop and I looked for a recording from yesterday, May 2. To my surprise, only videos from April 27 to April 30 were on there. This was odd and disappointing. I was expecting to see files from today. Nobody had made any configuration changes to the camera since we bought it late last year.

I decided I would manually delete the videos I no longer needed (pretty much all of them), put the camera back in place in my car, and see if it started recording again. At the last minute I thought I should format it. By "it", I meant the SD card, but I had the whole camera connected via USB-C, not just the card in the SD slot.

The camera is supposed to start when the car starts, but it didn't. When I connected it back to the laptop, it turned on but also beeped loudly 5 times and then stopped. I can see the storage is not only empty, it also doesn't have the folders it used to (CardV main folder, then Video F and Video R subfolders, etc.)

I think I messed up the entire camera. Can I undo what I did? How?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

I am not familiar with your camera but I will venture a guess that it has SD Card formatting capability built in. While you have it connected to your computer, go through the menus on the camera and see what is there. Try a format and see if that will for mat and automatically add the missing files.