U3000 Confusion

woodturner

Reaction score
Country
United States
I am new to dash cams, having never owned one in the past. I’m considering the purchase of a 2 channel U3000 once they become available. As most here probably already know, this dash cam has 4K resolution on the front camera and 2K on the rear.

My confusion is regarding the complaint that license plates are oftentimes unreadable in spite of the 4K resolution and there is disappointment (if I understand what I have been reading and watching) that the cam is not HD. The comments seem to indicate that if it were HD, the license plates would be clearer. But, by definition, isn’t 4K HD??? Doesn’t the resolution, almost by itself, dictate how readable a license plate will be? Where does the HD come in?

I thought I’d pull the trigger on the U3000 as soon as they hit the market, but this issue has left me somewhat confused and less eager to make the purchase. Hoping someone can clear the fog for me.

Welcome to the forum woodturner.

Americans are extra challenged, first of all many states often just have 1 licence plate, and i think the norm are in the back, so with that a oncoming car your 4K front system will get nothing as there are no plate in the front, and your bet on a plate capture hinge on the rear camera.
topping that off is American plates are even smaller / have smaller letters, at least compared to EU plated, and adding to insult background graphics on the plate are often seen, where as over here as9ide for the fact we must have plated front & rear, well on the far Left of the plate you can have your national letters like DK for us Danes or EU if you are into that, or you can have nothing, but thats often very little and very hard to get a capture off, but again not needed for identification.

We Danes have 2 letters and then 5 numbers, as i recall other EU countries might have other combinations though i think we share the 7 digits on the plates.