Want Dash cam with specific features - here they are:

jmhare53

Reaction score
Country
United States
First off, thanks for any knowledgeable assistance and input. Just joined the forum.
I've been using an Akaso camera for a few years, but I want to upgrade to a dash cam with these specific features - I got a Rove 2-4K a few days ago but I'm not sold on it yet...

1) 4K 30fps or better
2) GPS info automatically recorded
3) WIFI that does not need to be turned ON through the menu system every time power cycles - my Rove 2-4K is a pain in this regard, I might have to send it back.
4) iOS app for file transfer, etc.

The cam should have decent video and stabilization features, and it would be nice to set the recording angle from narrow to wide(r). I've found that much wide angle cams get real fish-eye'd and distorted.

I'd like to keep the price below $200 if possible.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Jim

Welcome to the forum.

4K/30 is as it get these days, the Sony IMX 415 sensor are used a lot, and as a consequence 4K cameras dont perform as good in low light as 1440p or 1080p sensors due to the smaller pixels on 4K sensors, and so 4K are less light sensitive.
It is not garbage, i will get my own first 4K camera in a few months, also using the IMX 415 sensor, i am however very down to earth on my demands for night footage, i want to have traffic lights recorded, and my own driving in relation to roadside and lane markings, and just about any dashcam will do that just fine.
Be aware of the many fake 4K cameras out there, extrapolating 4K footage from a 1440 p or even smaller sensor, so really not better image quality even if the output footage are 4K indeed, it is just a lesser resolution up-scaled in the camera.
GPS is about standard, and get recorded, speed and time /date are watermarked on footage,,,, or not most often up to you,,,,,, you still have to account for Daylight savings handover.