2011 ram 1500

mgd21

Reaction score
Country
United States
I'm new to dash cams, I use this truck for my business. I would like to install one for the front and maybe rear for potential liability issues. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks, mgd21

Welcome mgd21.

If you have a open bed on that Dodge there will be some problems in having a rear facing camera all the way out back.

The reason for this is there is fjew dashcams with a remote camera thats waterproof, the best for that kind of use might be the new MC camera called Bullethd ( see motorcycle subforum )

That one out back ( i do think its no problem extending the camera wire ) and another good dashcam up front, and your should be in the safe when it come to dokument the havoc on the streets around you and the Dodge.

You could allso just have a camera in the rear window of the cab, but the bed of the truck will then fill a lot of the footage as all dashcams use pretty wide angle lenses.

I drive a pick-up truck as well and simply mount a Mobius camera (with super-capacitor and B lens option) up on the headliner facing out the rear window. This gives me excellent coverage behind the truck as well as on either side of the bed right up to the back of the cab. Not only does this record traffic conditions and situations on the road or while parked, it also provides surveillance for my cargo, especially when I leave the truck unattended. Having the bed take up much of the frame is an advantage, not a drawback.

Mobius-B-lens.jpg

Last edited:
I wouldent mind either, okay the back of the bed do cover some road directly behind the truck.
But if anyone will be doing anything stupid back there, they will normally have a running start from further behind.
And i am not so blindly focussed on being able to real license plates like some people seem to be.
So i would just go for a dual or 2 single cameras in the cab myself.