Batch file to use FFMPEG to generate single "PIP" video from Front/Read

bpsmicro

Reaction score
Country
Canada
I found some web pages that discussed FFMPEG commands to take a Front & Rear video file and combine into a single file with a PIP rear view (similar to how the Blackvue Viewer app looks).

I decided to create a .CMD file, suitable for use with Windows, to allow me to automatically generate such a video from my download folder. I'm sharing this with the community here. The attached Zip includes the .cmd itself and a ReadMe.txt explaining how to set it up. You'll need to download FFMPEG.exe separately (not included).

This isn't a full-fledged video editor app, merely a quick'n'dirty way to merge your Front & Rear views into a single file for easy sharing.

I'm not an FFMPEG expert by any means, so if you want to change the options to suit your own personal preferences, you're pretty much on your own. :)

Enjoy;
Brad.

Update 8 Oct 2018:
More tweaking. PIP_Join can now have passed in either a folder path, or any file within that folder, and properly "calculate" which folder to work in. Remember that PIP_Join works against all of the recordings in the selected folder, so choose carefully.
Also added a variable inside PIP.cmd for the Front/Rear scale. Set 'scale' to 2.0 for the DR650S, and 3.0 (default) for the DR750S to get the rear PIP size close to that of the BV viewer.

Update 6 Aug 2018:
Attached is an updated version of the Zip with a slightly tweaked PIP.cmd, and the addition of a new PIP_Join.cmd. Again using ffmpeg (which I can't attach due to size restrictions).
PIP_Join.cmd works on a full folder of videos. It's highly recommended you copy the videos (Front/Rear) you want to merge into a separate folder on your PC, and definitely don't run this on your microSD directly. The .cmd makes a list of all videos in the folder (in order), runs PIP.cmd to merge the Front/Rear (mostly as before), and then concatenates them all into a single mega-video.