BlackVue - External or Internal LTE?

newbieraf

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey Guys

This is my first post and I'm a newbie to the dashcam world. I have settled on getting a BlackVue Dashcam however I am not sure if I should go for the 750 LTE or 750X or 900X with an LTE Module? My thinking with going with an external module is, if in the future BlackVue start going 5G in theory I could just get the new 5G module pending its compatible etc. I'm trying to future proof myself within reason if you see what I mean. What do you guys recommend?

Thanks
Raf

No way to know if a 5G version will come or if it would be compatible, for the functionality they offer in the cloud based features LTE is plenty anyway, feedback I've seen from dealers here is that the built in version is better than the external model, not sure why but have heard the same from a few dealers now

Thank you @jokiin. I guess its because LTE is integrated. I would have liked 4K but then apparently the 750 is better in low light because of 1080p fewer pixels.

If future proofing is a priority, recommend getting the 900X and then installing a separate hotspot in the car. Actually, I'd wait a bit and see if they upgrade the 900X sensor like they just did the 750X, but your need may be more immediate...

Then whenever you upgrade one, you won't have to worry about the other.

Probably be less expensive in the long run that way too.

Thanks @KANNINA 2.0 my thoughts also but, I kinda need it sooner rather than later. I think the 750 LTE removes all the potential messing around with local connectivity and should just work provided there is a LTE signal. When 5G comes out I can always get a hotspot.

One question, does anyone know if you can configure blackview to connect to home wifi once within range?