Dash cam that can be easily removed from mount

Az_Rael

Reaction score
Country
United States
So I am new to this world of dash cams and just bought myself a nice Panorama S from the eBay seller in South Korea that is listed here. I got the unit and installed it and it seems to work great.

However, I did not consider the way it mounts when I bought it. I work as a contractor at a military base and will most likely need to remove the unit every day prior to entering the facility (I don't know what the current rules are for dash cams, but seriously doubt they are/will be allowed). I can just unplug it and it won't be recording, however the lens is still there, and I suspect the guards would still give me a hard time. To remove it, you have to either pull down the suction cup, or fiddle with the go-pro style screw mount it uses. Not ideal.

So, I am thinking I may need to replace this one. I would like something in the same price range (~$200) with similar video quality and that has an LCD, but that easily unclips from its mount for stowing away. I don't need parking mode or GPS or any of that. I originally chose the Panorama due to its high video quality both day and night, its relatively small footprint with an LCD, and the fact that the manufacturer updates it regularly with firmware updates.

Any suggestions are welcome for a new camera. Or, if there is a 3rd party mount that would clip and unclip easily, that might be an alternative to me having to buy a new camera and sell this one. Thanks!

mini 0806 if you don't mind having a battery, just get hold and slide it off the mount, can be done single handed, no cables to bother with, very small to store away, can be remounted in a second.

Welcome! I use the Street Guardian SG9665gc, and it slides out of the mount very easy. Small enough that you could put it in your pocket if you wanted. Great camera, service and support from @Pier28 & @jokiin is the best!

Ok, thanks for the suggestions! I will check those out