Finding details on current drawn

John Nixon

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all
I have zero experience of dash cams. A friend has problems with vandalism whilst parked, and wants a dashcam fitted, preferably via lighter socket. Could be on for hours at a time, so need to find out current drawn. Reviews seen so far seem vague about such details. Also don't know which sort for this purpose. Any advice gratefully received

You're looking at .30 t0 .50 Amps and up. The lower amperage draw will be a cam without a screen.

Could be on for hours at a time, so need to find out current drawn. Reviews seen so far seem vague about such details.
Far too many variable to be able to predict how long before the battery is dead. Most cameras draw very little.. but over time will deplete the battery to the point it will not start the car. There are gadgets available that will shut the camera off at a predetermined voltage.. others run their cameras off a separate power supply. Like leaving a dome light on.. hard to predict how long before the battery is flat.

Thanks to all three of you - this seems to be a very helpful, friendly forum. I think I now have a good idea about battery capacity - shall tell her to visit the car every few hours and run the engine for a few minutes - only has a vandalism problem during working daytime.
russ331 - good question - I should have thought to include that. She wants to spend quite a bit less than £100, but doesn't have a clear limit in mind.

Please note that what she wants to do isn't viable on a day as hot as today in the UK. Aside from that I suggest something like the A119, DDPai Mini 2, Mobius, etc, powered by a, say, 10000mAh USB Power Bank when parked, so no need to worry about depleting the car battery.

Last edited:
Sometimes cranking an engine up, and running it a few minutes every few hours doesn't do much for the battery charge. :(
I'd probably lean toward the power bank, also. :)