Flashing GPS icon on A119 Mini 2

hdphilli

Reaction score
Country
Canada
Newbie here & just opened the box. Powered up the unit (with mini Sd inserted) and have a flashing GPS icon & no explanation in instruction booklet.
What does this mean? I assume that there might be three scenarios: maybe no icon (no sat signal?), flashing icon (??) & steady icon (system working ok?).

Newbie here & just opened the box. Powered up the unit (with mini Sd inserted) and have a flashing GPS icon & no explanation in instruction booklet.
What does this mean? I assume that there might be three scenarios: maybe no icon (no sat signal?), flashing icon (??) & steady icon (system working ok?).
Good luck with your camera.

Where did you try it?
If you are doing it at home or in the garage, this means you cannot receive a signal. I recommend you try it outside, in a place where the sky is visible.

When the GPS is not inserted into the slot, the GPS icon does not flash.
It says no GPS. If the GPS icon is blinking, it means it cannot receive a signal.

Last edited:
Other things to check :

Is it mounted in the GPS mount and is the power plugged into the mount, although on some models being mounted is sufficient

What does this mean?
Welcome to the club.
Depending on where the space satellite is in relation to your terrestrial location, and signal strength, (being indoors, surrounded by tall buildings, etc.) it may take anywhere from 1 second to 30 minutes to get a GPS lock based on my experience.

The good news is Viofo fixed this issue with the new Quad Mode GPS module on the A229 Pro & A229 Plus, (GPS, BeiDou, Galileo, and GLONASS).
I’ve found they get GPS signal lock much, much faster.

Screenshot 2023-11-12 10.25.29 PM.png

The good news is Viofo fixed this issue with the new Quad Mode GPS module on the A229 Pro & A229 Plus, (GPS, BeiDou, Galileo, and GLONASS).
I’ve found they get GPS signal lock much, much faster.