G1WH vs G1W-CB video quality

Sincs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm just about to buy a G1W and have pretty much finished researching which version I should go for... I've narrowed it down to the G1WH and the G1W-CB (from Spy Tec - or maybe E-Prance).

My question is.... does the H have slightly lower recording quality due to the wider viewing angle of 140 degrees versus the 120 of the CB?
How do they achieve the wider viewing angle if the lens used is the same across all models?

I'm not sure if it's in my mind but any time I see a sample video from an H it doesn't seem as sharp or as high-res as a sample from a G1W, C or CB.

I'm no expert on cameras, lenses, etc etc... far from it, so any info appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to DCT, Sincs!

Don't be fooled by what the sellers say in the specs. Both cameras have exactly the same FOV.
As to which one is better, nowadays no one knows if the video quality is going to be as good as before, it's always a bit of a hit and miss.

Welcome to DCT, Sincs!

Don't be fooled by what the sellers say in the specs. Both cameras have exactly the same FOV.
As to which one is better, nowadays no one knows if the video quality is going to be as good as before, it's always a bit of a hit and miss.

Thanks Module.

Think I'll just go for the CB. Due to capacitor vs battery pros/cons I might as well spend £10 extra to avoid any of the potential downsides that a battery brings.
I live in the UK so no extreme temperatures here - but still, might as well just go for the capacitor version.

Thanks Module.

Think I'll just go for the CB. Due to capacitor vs battery pros/cons I might as well spend £10 extra to avoid any of the potential downsides that a battery brings.
I live in the UK so no extreme temperatures here - but still, might as well just go for the capacitor version.
Good choice. At least the CB doesn't have that shiny ring around the lens.