Greetings from Los Angeles!

accordn2ryan

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hi Everyone! I'm a total newbie to dashcams, and decided to join and get as much information as I can before I dive in and purchase one.

I'm looking for a dashcam that I'll be able to hard wire to my car, and also want to have it record while I'm parked. I was looking at the BlackVue 2ch (front and rear camera) with the magic pro, but was trying to see what other options are out there (Mobius, Thinkware, etc) that offers the features I'm looking for. Also what other equipment I would need like a capacitor so my car battery doesn't die. I read that the magic pro will shut off the camera automatically if it senses your car battery is reaching a certain level that's too low?

I look forward to learning as much as I could and definitely use that "search" function before I actually post a question! ;)

Best,

Ryan

Welcome Ryan.

yeah with parking guard you will need a BDP to make sure the camera dont drain your car battery to a level where you cant start the car again.
And since you are in LA you will proberly be best off with a camera based on capasitors instead of a lipo battery ( those are just there to end last recording proberly in case of a carsh )

Still using parking guard a lot, say 8 houres while you work and 8 houres while you are at home sleeping, this will put a substantial load on your battery, so you will allso have to drive a bit to make sure the car can keep your car battery topped up.
If you use parking guard that much and only drive like 1 hour every day you will be discharging more every day than charging.
But offcourse if you are out on the streets in the famous LA crawling traffic, that would be a good way to charge up that car battery. :D

Forthcomming dual systems should be better than most current ones that is based on technology that have its limitations, but we wont see those new gear on tha marked before the very tail end of the year.