Hard wiring mount rather than using mini-USB

John Gorst

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have had my mini 0803 GPS running in my car for a week now and thought I should share how I mounted it.

I find that having the mini-USB cable plugged in makes the wiring more obvious and bulky..... so I cut off the micro-USB connector, dismantled the GPS mount, drilled a hole in it and soldered the +ve and -ve wires to the circuit board (I am not a soldering expert so quite easy!). I also wired it directly to a 12--5v transformer connected straight to the fuse box to avoid the extra bulk of a cigarette adapter.

Here is a photo of it taken apart and in action.

I can also let anyone know how to fit to a Seat Alhambra (2011+) taking a switched feed from drivers side fuse box, up A frame and along headliner without any unscrewing or damage! No wires visible at all! You only have to remove the driversside A pillar cover which is 'easy'.

IMG_0779.jpg IMG_0776.jpg IMG_0780.jpg Untitled.jpg

They reach....just.... and only because the camera is pointing slightly down.

Only problem is reflection off the windscreen.... I assume this is made worse by the angle/distance the lens is from the screen.

Ideally I would have liked it behind the mirror but the mirror is too bulky making not enough room behind it when adjusted for my wifes driving position..... also it would have to fit on the passenger side of the mirror and the rain sensor and mounting for factory fit lane/sign camera (if fitted, but the plastic is still there regardless) gets in the field of view.

Deva ju.... (yes, on purpose).

I recently did the same thing at the miniUSB, although I'm still using the acessory port at the other end. https://www.flickr.com/photos/rtrski/15138756646/

In my case I didn't mind the 'bulk' of the miniUSB connection...it just wasn't reliable at all at (loose / intermittent power contacts).

I put an insulating tape between mont and micro usb conection and solves the problem.