ID-10-T and stick shift car

Genki

Reaction score
Country
United States

How is he working at auto shop and not know how to drive a stick shift?? People who works in any kind of auto shop is expected to know how to drive any kind of cars so maybe he lied on job application?

Manual transmission, one of the most effective anti-theft devices you can have.
:)

"Where's the bredal?" :eek:

If guy #2 thought the owner was watching, maybe he should have offered to drive instead of putting him under more pressure. He was clearly failing hard.

I did once take a few minutes trying to work out how to put a new company car into reverse (the gearstick had to be lifted IIRC) but I don't think that kind of thing explains what went on here.

I think I drove a 2000's VW Beatle and the gearstick had to be depressed first.

i was a mechanic in the used car dept at a toyota dealer for quite a while so i got to drive a lot of different stuff. to get into reverse, there are some where you have to lift a ring, pull up on the entire shifter, push it down into the floor, or in the case of my tacoma and some other toyota 6-speeds (celica GTS/matrix/corolla XRS to name a few), slam it hard left from center-neutral to get past the safety spring (R is to the left of first). i had to teach several customers that it was normal to require that much effort to get into reverse because they don't want you to accidentally do it while driving.

but yeah, this guy just didn't know how to work a clutch.

and actually now that i think about it, they never asked me if i could drive stick before i started working there. i could, but not perfectly, as i'd only ever driven a couple of friends' cars that were stick. i didn't buy my own manual trans car till a year or so later.

Last edited: